Washington Acres

Undressing the House

Leave a comment

It took several weeks, but all the log siding is finally down! It was actually in pretty good shape, but it isn’t my style. And the house needs eaves. As it was, the siding was sticking out past the edge of the roof and rain water was able to go down behind it.

I unscrewed as much as I could myself, but my 2 year old was much too interested in following me up the ladder. And there’s only so much I can do during naptime. So after a few weeks of slow progress, I decided to hire some help. It was done in a weekend!

I’m still deciding between doing the board and batten in cedar or Hardie planks. But there’s old vertical siding with house wrap on, so the house is protected before new stuff gets put on. Here’s what the house is looking like now:

Leave a Reply

